Stop Coding!

The Unofficial Flex Compiler Blog

HFCD 4 Now Supports Flex and Flash Builder 4 Final!

Last week was an exciting week. Flex 4 and Flash Builder 4 were out FINALLY! I had HFCD 3 going final as well… actually, one business day before the Flex 4 official announcement!

Now that Flex 4 and Flash Builder 4 are available, it’s time to upgrade HFCD 4 from supporting Gumbo beta 2 to the Flex 4 final release. I spent some time last week porting and testing some codes and I’m pleased to announce that HFCD 4 (remains in beta) now supports Flex 4 and Flash Builder 4.

It’s true that HFCD 4 currently remains in beta. I just want to hear some more feedback and work out some more kinks before upgrading its status. If you ask me, I’d rate this update closer to release candidate than early beta w.r.t. quality.

As I mentioned in my previous post, HFCD is now a product of Bytecode Workshop, Inc. You can download the installers there. Several useful links are below:

After using the compiler in Flex 4 for a few days, I can see that the compiler is faster than its Flex 3 counterpart. Congrats to the folks at Adobe on this achievement. But since HFCD uses whatever is improved in Flex and it’s architected differently (and of course, with the use of multi-core technology), HFCD continues to outperform Flex in most medium-to-large project workspace situations. The build performance when combining Flash Builder 4, Flex 4 and HFCD 4 is truly amazing and I had already talked about it awhile back.

My plan is that HFCD 4 will not stay long in the beta status and will move aggressively towards the final release, so please help me by trying it when you get a chance. Thanks!

