Stop Coding!

The Unofficial Flex Compiler Blog

Another HFCD Update… We’re Almost There…

with 17 comments

Hello, HFCD is going to expire in a few days, so here is another update.

HFCD 3: http://stopcoding.org/hfcd/3/download

HFCD 4: http://stopcoding.org/hfcd/4/download

There are several bug fixes and some nice enhancements:

1. I should have mentioned in my last HFCD update that HFCD 3 now supports Flex SDK 3.2.0, 3.3.0, 3.4.1 and 3.5.0.

2. Before this update, developers needed to ‘close and reopen’ their projects in their Flex Builder workspace in order to ‘upload’ source files to HFCD. Now, the ‘close and reopen’ step is mostly optional – HFCD automatically pulls missing source files from the Flex Builder workspace before building.

3. I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned it but there is a preference dialog for configuring the HFCD Eclipse plugin. I highly recommend that you enable both plugin options (Disable ‘Build Automatically on startup and Save HFCD build data on exit) in the dialog.

4. HFCD monitors its memory usage periodically and automatically save build data to cache files when the JVM heap usage is high. I’ve added the following to the pull-down menu of ‘HFCD View’:

  • see the memory usage of HFCD at any moment
  • override the memory monitor and instruct HFCD to immediately save all the build data to disk.

I think this is the most stable build I’ve ever had, so please give this a try.

It is important that you uninstall the previous version of HFCD before installing this HFCD update. Make sure that the HFCD Eclipse plugin is disabled and removed.

Happy Coding!

Written by Clement Wong

January 28, 2010 at 11:34 pm

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Excellent,
    Can’t wait for a final version🙂

    Fabien
    http://www.flex-tutorial.fr

    Adobe Flex Tutorial

    January 29, 2010 at 4:54 am

  2. I have a problem with this new release, I get an AS3 error in my AS file that is using [Embed] to pull in PNG files.

    “exception during transcoding: \C\users\\\assets\tools\tool_icon.png (The system cannot find the path specified)”

    I tried adding the ‘assets’ dir to HFCD manually (using the HFCD FileSet view), didn’t help.

    I did this from a clean install of Flash Builder 4 Beta 2, Standalone, with the HFCD 4 Update 5 standalone windows installer. The project compiles fine before installing HFCD.

    The offending line of code:

    [Embed(source=’../assets/tools/tool_icon.png’)]
    public static var toolIcon:Class;

    My Project is laid out like:
    project/
    src/
    com/company/MyClass.as
    assets/
    tools/icon.PNG

    So the ‘assets’ directory is not inside the ‘src’ directory. Not sure if that’s causing the problem or not, but like I said it works fine with the built in compiler.

    David R

    January 29, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    • Hmm, blog ate my space-based formatting. Src Layout is like this:

      project/src/com/company/MyClass.as
      project/assets/tools/icon.PNG

      David R

      January 29, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    • This is fixed.

      The fix is in HFCD 3 Update 13 and HFCD 4 Update 6.

      Clement Wong

      January 30, 2010 at 6:05 am

  3. It would be good to have a better progress bar for the sdk download. At the moment it looks more like the installer hangs

    Ralf Bokelberg

    January 31, 2010 at 8:24 am

    • Unfortunately, the progress bar in the BitRock installer doesn’t let lengthy HTTP GET processes to show their download progress.

      I can add some text there to explain that the action(s) may take awhile to finish.

      Clement Wong

      January 31, 2010 at 1:52 pm

  4. The installation of 3.3 plugin version fails for me bc. datavizualisation cannot be downloaded

    Ralf Bokelberg

    January 31, 2010 at 8:35 am

  5. Ok, i was able to install it from the zip using my own sdk. I copied the sdk to both directories, client & server, and ran the ant build (with download & unzip commented out). Therafter i added the client as the sdk. Compilation in FlexBuilder triggers the compiler just fine, as i can see from the console output.

    However, one of my library projects doesn’t compile. The error is “can’t find source for class …”. It compiles fine with a normal sdk. Is there a option to get more detailed errors?

    Ralf Bokelberg

    January 31, 2010 at 10:47 am

    • In your user home directory, there is a directory called “.hfcd”. There is a dot in the name, so the directory is hidden on OSX/Unix.

      Look into the “$HOME/.hfcd/files” directory and see what source files and/or SWC files are missing.

      In the latest update, HFCD should automatically copy the necessary files to the .hfcd directory. If some files are missing, then there is a bug. Please let me know what files are missing.

      In the meantime, there are two workaround:

      1. manually copy the missing files to the “.hfcd/files” directory.
      2. In Flex Builder, close and reopen the projects or use the “HFCD FileSet” view to copy the files to HFCD.

      Thanks.

      Clement Wong

      January 31, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    • This is also fixed!

      The fix is in HFCD 3 Update 14 and HFCD 4 Update 7.

      Clement Wong

      February 1, 2010 at 11:00 am

  6. Hi,

    I am trying to use HFCD in my projects. I am using the 02/02/2010 prerelease version of FlashBuilder 4. As far as I am aware I installed the latest version of HFCD 4.0.0 using the installer. I switch my projects to use the HFCD 4.0.0 compiler, start the server, close project, reopen it, perform a clean and a rebuild.

    Unfortunately on every project I try this on I get the following error

    “unknown configuration variable ‘compiler.omit-trace-statements'”

    No compiled output is produced

    log from HFCD is

    [Fri Feb 05 06:56:39 GMT 2010] compile(LICS.swc) result=-1 time=259

    Any clues???

    Conrad

    February 5, 2010 at 3:03 am

    • I looked quickly but couldn’t find it. Where can we get the 2/2/10 FB4 prerelease?

      David R

      February 5, 2010 at 11:56 am

      • Now, HFCD 4 is in its 10th update (2010/02/05). I’ll blog about what’s in today’s update.

        Clement Wong

        February 5, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    • Hi Conrad,

      Thanks for testing HFCD. I don’t think omit-trace-statements is supported in Gumbo beta2, which is the version HFCD currently supports. As soon as there is a new official Gumbo release, I’ll move HFCD to support it.

      Clement Wong

      February 5, 2010 at 1:22 pm

  7. When I run “Generate Apache Ant build.xml”, it simply opens a file populated with “null”. While I have been able to successfully figure out, via your different articles, how to setup remote builds… I cannot seem to figure this one out. I am extremely excited for the potential of your product with our team. We build large scale 15+ module flex applications and _any_ improvement in build time would be awesome. A large scale project comes with a larger team so generation of the build.xml would help with adoption. Thank you!

    Winton DeShong

    February 26, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    • Hi Winton,

      Thanks for trying HFCD. You need to run a clean full build before “Generate Apache Ant build.xml”.

      Clement Wong

      February 26, 2010 at 5:39 pm


Leave a Reply

